Corinthians crowned state champions!

corinthians-championsCorinthians drew 1-1 with Santos at the Pacaembu stadium on Sunday to become the first unbeaten Paulista State Champions in almost 40 years.

The “Timao” had won the first leg of the decider 3-1 last weekend, with two spectacular goals from Ronaldo, and only needed a point or a narrow defeat to clinch the title.

But Corinthians went behind to a Kleber Pereira penalty kick in the 28th minute, after the veteran was impeded in the area by Corinthians goalkeeper Felipe.

However, Andre Santos levelled the scores five minutes later with a quick snap-shot inside of the area.

Ronaldo may not have made as much of an impact as in the first leg of the final, but the three-time FIFA World Player of the Year was very lively during the encounter.

Corinthians, who only last year competed in the Brazilian Second Division, are one of the main contenders to fight for the 2009 Serie A title.

With the draw, Corinthians extended their unbeaten streak at the Pacaembu stadium to 25 matches.

  • Calendar

    • July 2018
      M T W T F S S
      « Jun    
  • Search